Baking + Cooking + Design / Inspired

For this post rather than the usual exposition and recipe, we’re meant to review a blog that’s similar to ours.

The Baker Who Kerns
Header over at thebakerwhokerns.com by Linda Shirar

I found The Baker Who Kerns while looking for an image of flour to use as a background image for this blog, not in any search for recipes or anything like that, but hey whatever works.

I was drawn to visit the blog first of all by the title. For those who don’t know, kerning is the process of adjusting the spacing between characters when setting type. So I automatically knew the owner, Linda, had a propensity for design and a love for baking, so I assumed that anything she wrote I could totally relate to, and I was right.

Her “journey to a healthier and more fulfilling lifestyle through food” is documented  beautifully and conversationally through her blog, and promoted well on other social media platforms like Twitter and Instagram. I came for the likemindedness and stayed for the lovely photography and simple, delicious recipes.

recipes
captured from thebakerwhokerns.com

I’ve been wanting to try out recipes that are on the healthier side of decadence for a while, and these GF Moon Phase Molasses Cookies sound like a good start that would be perfect for my nerdy roommates.

I look to The Baker Who Kerns for inspo on features to add to my blog in the future if/when I decide to put more effort into it than what’s directly required for class.

Leave a Reply

