Strawberry Shortk8

frosting with berries and candles lit
photo by: Kara Albe

This last week was my roommate Kaytlin’s birthday. It fell on a Thursday when I have class all day and I’ve been so busy gearing up for finals, I couldn’t think of a great and thoughtful gift to get her. So naturally I baked her something instead. As this is my last official post for this class, I decided to go all out and make something incredible.

I asked Kaytlin (k8) what kind of cake she wanted, and she sent me this photo from Rose Bakes.

strawberry cake
from Rose Bakes 

Looking at it at first I was daunted, and then reading the recipe I got more and more reluctant, but decided to take on the challenge. It took all afternoon to make, what with having to wash out my mixing bowl after every component and letting things sit in the fridge to chill.

whipped cream
photo by: Kara Albe

I honestly couldn’t have done it without the whisk attachment on my mixer. It did the work of whipping the filling, the frosting, the batter, and the egg whites to lighten the batter further.

components
photo by: Kara Albe

After all of the components were ready, assembly went much more smoothly than I thought it would. First the leveled cake, soaked with strawberry syrup, filling, strawberries cut to the same height, more filling, second soaked cake, frosting, then more frosting.

cakes
photo by: Kara Albe
soaked cakes
photo by: Kara Albe
filling
photo by: Kara Albe
strawberries on filling
photo by: Kara Albe
strawberries on filling
photo by: Kara Albe
side view of cakes
photo by: Kara Albe
frosting
photo by: Kara Albe

I don’t have piping bags because I rarely decorate things precisely, but since it’s a special occasion I used a Ziploc bag with the corner snipped to pipe the frosting on top, then decorated with 8 strawberries to denote slices. (This is not a small dessert.)

frosting with berries
photo by: Kara Albe

Birthday candles topped off this huge cake while we sang and snapped Polaroids.

frosting with berries and candles
photo by: Kara Albe

We later realized that I have literally made the cake emoji 🍰🎂. It was equally as spectacular on the inside as it was on the outside.

slice scored out of cake
photo by: Kara Albe
slice cut from cake
photo by: Kara Albe
view of layers
photo by: Kara Albe

Overall it was a great success, a happy birthday, and we’ll have cake for days.

Leave a Reply

